Chocolate Fudge Cake Muffins

wpid-imag0050-2010-09-18-22-11.jpg

I think it’s safe to say that Summer threw a spanner in my blog-updating schedule. And a lot has happened since my last post, way back when. Aside from finishing up my summer job, I submitted my MA thesis at the beginning of this month. Three days before that, I moved out of home, and six days later I started my new job. So it’s safe to say, there’s been a degree of upheaval to my comfortable routine.

Chocolate, however, remains a constant. The recipe for these chocolate fudge muffins came from the BBC Good Food site, however my personal baking supplies do not yet extend to two seven-inch cake tins, so I made muffins instead. And pretty good muffins they were too!

wpid-imag0049-2010-09-18-22-11.jpg

The original icing recipe was a little different, with icing sugar instead of caster sugar and without the melting. I couldn’t be bothered to buy icing sugar though, so made some changes to the method.

Makes 12 Large Muffins

Cake:

175g self-raising flour

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

1 teaspoon bicarbonate soda

150g caster sugar

2 eggs, beaten

1/4 pint vegetable oil

1/4 pint milk

2 tablespoons golden syrup

Icing (makes a lot – if you are making muffins rather than a cake you can probably half this).

75g butter, at room temperature

150g caster sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

3 tablespoons cocoa powder

2 tablespoons milk

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180ºC. Place muffin cases into a muffin tray.
  2. Sieve the flour, bicarbonate of soda and cocoa. Add the sugar and stir well.
  3. Make a well in the centre and add the beaten eggs, milk, golden syrup and vegetable oil.
  4. Whisk until smooth and then spoon into the muffin cases. The batter was very runny at this stage, but rose a lot in the oven – half filling the muffin cases was perfect.
  5. Cook for 20 minutes. The muffins should have risen and be firm to the touch. Remove from the oven and cool.
  6. Meanwhile, make the icing. I just melted everything together and spread it on top of the cooled muffins. Easy peasy.
Comments
4 Responses to “Chocolate Fudge Cake Muffins”
  1. They look fantastic, perfect to have with a hot coffee and try to remember the good weather!!!

  2. reindeersp says:

    Yumminess! Look amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

