Bloggers Delight: Part 3

Beetroot, Orange and Feta Salad

Beetroot, Orange and Feta Salad

The third post in my very blog-inspired week comes courtesy of a wonderful blog called Lola-Lu’s Kitchen. I’d never cooked beetroot before, but with a recipe for Martijn Kajuiter’s Rhubarb With Beetroot I’d seen over at The Daily Spud in mind, I’d picked some up. Once I saw this recipe, the rhubarb had to wait.

Raw Beetroot

This recipe is almost exactly as I found it over on Lola-Lu’s Kitchen. I doubled the quantities, bulked it up with some baby spinach and rocket and added a sprinkling of sunflower seeds. I think it might just become a staple.


Balsamic Beetroot, Orange and Feta Salad

Balsamic Roast Beetroot, Orange and Feta Salad.

4 fresh beetroots peeled and cut into small dice.
2 oranges, peeled and cut into chunks.
2 tablespoons of olive oil
2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar
2/3 block of feta, cut into chunks
1 large handful baby spinach
1 handful rocket
1 handful sunflower seeds
Salt and pepper

1. Preheat the oven to 220°C. Toss the beetroot in a tablespoon and olive oil and a teaspoon of balsamic vinegar. Pop into the oven until roasted and a deep red colour. Lola and Lu recommended about 35 minutes but my beetroot was ever so slightly overdone after 30, so check it regularly.

2.  Mix the beetroot with the rest of the ingredients. Add the remaining olive oil and balsamic vinegar and mix thoroughly.

Comments
2 Responses to “Bloggers Delight: Part 3”
  1. Daily Spud says:

    …and now you’ve given me an idea for what to do with the rest of the beetroot that I’ve got in my fridge!

Leave a Reply

