A burger? Of chickpeas?

Chickpea Feast

There seems to be a power struggle going on in my house at the moment. Everybody is avoiding the weekly shop. There is a list on the fridge which has been gradually growing, including more and more staples as it does so. Among the multitude of items it currently features are chickpeas, tuna, tinned tomatoes and anchovies. The first three are staples, the fourth a sign of just how desperate the times are: you know things are rough when you’ve eaten all the anchovies.

I managed to stave off the inevitable on Sunday with a trip to the Dun Laoghaire Farmer’s Market (what a treasure trove!) where I picked up some organic veg. Surely someone else would have to address The List. But there was a problem.  When Aoife posted about the Chickpea Burgers she featured in her new column in the Irish Independent, I knew I was going to have to make them. The question was when.

Once the staples are gone, I am always the first to break. This time, I was determined to be strong. I think it is time for The Daddy to learn how to do the shopping. It is a life skill, after all, and there is a List.

Looking tasty already

It doesn’t count as breaking if you resort to begging the Sister and her boyfriend to bring you chickpeas from their jaunt to Dundrum, right? In any case, the burgers were delicious.

About to become chickpea mush

The recipe, and Aoife’s original about it can be found on her blog, Adventures in Veg here. I increased the amount of cumin and added a good handful of fresh coriander. I left out the ground coriander, and threw in some cinnamon and chili too.  I forgot to add the olive oil, but it didn’t seem to make any difference. I did notice the burgers absorbed the oil I fried them in though.

Tastier than it looks… Tahini

I made a Tahini sauce to serve with the burgers by mixing a tablespoon of Tahini paste, the juice of half a lemon and a generous handful of chopped coriander into a bowl of yoghurt.

Better than boiled squash, that’s for sure!

Instead of potato wedges, I cut a  butternut squash from the farmers market into chip-sized pieces. I chopped up a dried chili and added it to a roasting pan with a little olive oil. They cooked in 20 minutes at 180°C.

I also have some chard after my jaunt to the farmer’s market. If anyone has any suggestions for what to do with it, please leave a comment!

Comments
3 Responses to “A burger? Of chickpeas?”
  1. sweetoblivion26 says:

    So delighted you liked these! The recipe’s from the book ‘What to Eat When You Can’t Eat Anything’ by Chupi & Luke Sweetman, I’ve had it for years and I love dipping into it as the recipes are SO simple and yum. (You can get it in most bookshops I think!)
    It’s not a veggie book but has a great range of veg and meat dishes, so it suits all tastes. It has some great recipes for sauces and breads too.
    The tahini sauce looks great 🙂
    Thanks again
    Aoife

    • Aisling says:

      I just checked out the book on Amazon, hadn’t realised it was Irish. I’ll definitely keep an eye out for it – though my collection of cookbooks is growing at an extraordinary rate at the moment!
      Aisling

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] The original recipe calls for it to be served with coriander-lime oil and chili-roasted squash (which I featured recently) but too be honest, that seemed like a bit too much work for a mid-week […]



Leave a Reply

